News:

The Toadfish Monastery is at https://solvussolutions.co.uk/toadfishmonastery

Why not pay us a visit? All returning Siblings will be given a warm welcome.

Main Menu

Happy Camper-- MagicJack

Started by Bob in a quantum-state-of-faith, October 09, 2011, 10:03:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bob in a quantum-state-of-faith

Okay, I've been using a MagicJack for a couple of years, now-- 3?  Yes.. it's been at least three years since I bought this thing-- I've renewed twice, and I got a free year with the initial purchase.

I run it on a dedicated, ancient laptop barely running Windoze XP, with a PMCIA card serving up the USB2.0 and NET connections-- the card is externally powered, via a separate switching power supply.  Up until last week, it just worked.   Sure the call quality was occasionally scratchy, but what did I expect for a measly $20/year?   ;D

I'm so happy with this thing, as an adequate alternative to my cell phone, that I set my mother up with the same thing:  a cheap, used laptop running Windoze XP, and a dedicated cordless phone direct to the 'jack itself.  She strictly uses it for long distance, and did not give the number out-- she wants the mental security of a dedicated, traditional land-line (even though she's really on a VOIP thing through COX's digital telephone service... shhhh... don't tell her that). 

On the third paw, by having 3 things with Cox, she essentially gets one of them for free... so it would not save her anything to disconnect it... okay, back to subject at hand.