News:

The Toadfish Monastery is at https://solvussolutions.co.uk/toadfishmonastery

Why not pay us a visit? All returning Siblings will be given a warm welcome.

Main Menu

DIY Plumbers: spare some advice for a plumbing n00b?

Started by Sibling Lambicus the Toluous, March 15, 2007, 07:11:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sibling Lambicus the Toluous

Two questions for the handypeople!

1. I'm planning on replacing my kitchen faucet.  I've never done this before.  The instructions that came with the new one look fairly straightforward, but does anyone know of any "gotchas" that I should look out for?

2.  The builders of my house didn't bother to put shutoffs in for the kitchen faucet.  Is it difficult to put shutoffs like this in without soldering pipe (I've never soldered pipe before, so a non-solder alternative is best for me), or is it not worth the bother?

Any guidance would be helpful.

Sibling Chatty

Since Chatty knows nothing about plumbing, this is Dan answering.

No real gotchas on the faucet replacement, just use Teflon tape and check for leaks.

As for the lack of shut offs, what material for the pipes (i.e. copper, iron, PVC or CPVC)?
This sig area under construction.

Griffin NoName

If Bustlin Brian gives ye any 'ints, Oi begs ye ter ignore em !!!  :pirate:
Psychic Hotline Host

One approaches the journey's end. But the end is a goal, not a catastrophe. George Sand

The Meromorph

Soldering (or rather 'sweating') is actually the easiest and simplest way. But if you've never done it before, and don't have the equipment, don't try it in the cramped space you have available.
IMO, it's close to criminal not to have put in shutoff valves for faucets (In many parts of the US it is criminal).
You'll have to shut off the water at the 'mains'. DO put in your own shut-offs.